"Photography suits the temper of this age - of active bodies and minds. It is a perfect medium for one whose mind is teeming with ideas, imagery, for a prolific worker who would be slowed down by painting or sculpting, for one who sees quickly and acts decisively, accurately."
-Edward Weston
...And yes, indeed, I have to agree with Mr. Weston, however, some years has passed and a lot of things has changed. Everything has digitalized and the digital photography reached its Zenith. Photography and documenting has never been easier. And don't get me wrong, there isn't a tiny hint of complaint. (guess how I took the picture in the intro, haha) I love my Nikon D7000, but still, there could be found a hint of moan in my words.
A few days back I went to a Photo Lab near my house to print out pictures from my KODAK single use camera from the Pohoda Festival I attended in July. Single use camera is a must and festival essential, we all know it. It takes them a day to develop the pictures etc. and I can't even describe the thrill and excitement I feel every time I get the pack of my pictures I took and I never saw before. Not only me, but also my friends are texting me with commands to share them on my Facebook immediately. We all love analogue cameras. So why it's so rare for us to bust our SMENAs and LOMOs and take pictures? Yet more importantly, a question I never dared to ask: What makes me so Hipster to use analogues?
I'm not going further to deal with this whole Hipster issue. I get called that a lot and I don't investigate how someone meant it or what. But in this particular case, it bothers me somehow.
Before I started writing this I was sitting in the kitchen with my brother, collecting ideas, and I asked him what were his thoughts on Analogue Photography in general and he shortly, without any enthusiasm, replied: "It sucks".
Now, I don't consider myself a great Photography enthusiast. But do I have to be one, just to run around with my analogues?
I know there is phase in every teenage life where the kid consider himself (or want to be perceived as) an aspiring photographer. That's not what I mean. Nor do I mean those [Name,Surname]Photography Facebook fan pages I get invited to on regular bases. I mean enjoying the fact that you take a picture and don't see it until you have it in your hands.
Also, I'm giving a shout-out to Mijonju Show on youtube for boosting my collectors soul and showing me cameras I've never seen. (Also you have to love this into song to his channel, it's phenomenal, haha)
Also give me your opinion on this. I'm really interested.
Love,
Hana.
